4 bedrooms instead of 5

Hello everyone,
I am new to hosting. I have 1300 sqft unfinished basement area to renovate into a 4 bedroom suite.
The basement already has a huge family kitchen with big dining space as well. I am considering doing 5 bedrooms instead of 4 but I will not have enough space for a living area with couch and tv. Maybe just corner chairs.
Is it better to do 4 bedroom with kitchen and a bigger living area or the 5 bedroom plan?
I plan to host the entire basement and not partial

I would say it is very much dependent on your target market. Personally i would keep the living space .

6 Likes

I agree. When I started I allowed 4 people and cut it back to 3 because I found smaller groups caused less wear and tear and no parties. Also, I would want living room too.

9 Likes

Check your zoning rules depending on where you are. This would not be legal where I am, where there are a maximum of 4 unrelated adults allowed at a single address. (That’s assuming your upstairs is occupied by one or more people, and that “only” 1 person is per bedroom. If you envision 8 people downstairs and already have 4 upstairs … well you might be heading for sewer drain overload among other problems.)

5 bedrooms sounds more like a tenement than a “suite.”

Also given the constant complaints we hear about on this forum regarding upstairs noise and walking and kids running, it would be a consideration as to how you will, or already have, soundproofed the area.

5 Likes

I have a whole house rental with 3 bedrooms and five beds, it sleeps 8. I find that guests use the livingroom a lot, especially on rainy days. I feel it’s necessary to offer them a living room space. You can add a twin size bed in each bedroom to accommodate more guests. I have a queen and twin bed in two of the bedrooms. It’s perfect for families.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the helpful information.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the helpful information Puppylover :slight_smile:

1 Like