3 misconceptions about hosting I learned this summer

Just to give you some background to my story. For the last 5 years I traveled and stayed in Airbnb in 40+ countries and consider myself an experienced traveler / Airbnb guest. Yet, I’m very new to hosting. I always liked the concept of hosting: living in a nice location by the beach, eating fresh fruits and vegetables, having lots of free time on my hands while having some kind of income from passing travelers. My dream came true when I was fired from my job in Canada and I decided to move to Europe and start “my own thing” :slight_smile: . Here are three things that truly surprised me as a newbie host vs what I was thinking about it as a guest.

1. Vacation rental is a business

I really don’t know why people call short-term (STR) vacation a business. To me it’s just like any other job. Our employers are Airbnb, Booking, VRBO, etc. Our performance reviews are done on almost daily basis by our mini bosses called guests. Like in any other job they can screw us, just like that, for no particular reason. Yes, you can go to HR (Airbnb…) but there is very little HR can do for the host in seemingly innocent situations like giving you 3-star overall experience because they their rental car was scratched at the beach parking spot or they were served poor quality food in a tourist trap restaurant. Stress level is the same as on the job, especially if you are superhost. Checking these progress review stars is nightmare, at least for me. In what business just one carefully written negative review can put you out of business? Can you imagine Delonghi goes out of business because people refuse to read the instructions and can’t make any coffee from the machine? I think the only way you can call it a business if 90% of your reservations are direct bookings. In other words, you don’t need any platforms to market your place. Just your own website and travel blog do everything for you. In all other cases, STR is a job.