Your strategies to avoid host burn out

I started hosting in November 2021, although I have many years as a landlord and that experience has helped me immensely. I enjoy hosting very much.

I have noticed however that some hosts just sound exhausted, frustrated and sick of it all. I don’t want to be one of those!

So I’m wondering if those of you who have been hosting for years would like to share any secrets for avoiding burn out. Thank you.

If these were secret I wouldn’t be sharing. I also expect this to appear in a blog somewhere. The same people who do arbitrage also steal from this forum and post the stuff they read here on their ad laden websites. I don’t think that’s you. I’m just saying it for those scum who lurk here and steal.

That’s not necessarily related to hosting. Some people aren’t well suited to this business and some are very well suited to it. Related to your comment on another thread, some hosts think this will be easy and they just don’t know what they are doing. Occasionally we see them here, posting one problem after another and you can see from the beginning that they just aren’t in the right situation for it. The ones who are argumentative and defensive come to mind. They don’t have the personality to suit the job.

So that’s a consideration. I’m not saying great hosts can’t burn out, and I’m not saying there are no terrible guests. But avoiding guest problems by being knowledgeable, informed and proactive helps. I’ve been hosting 8 years and have probably hosted 1000 people. In summer of 2019 before the pandemic I had multiple back to back one night stays so was turning over my small suite 20+ times a month and didn’t feel burnout.