Would you go "off platform" if you could?

Hi everyone, I have been hosting for quite a few years now, and with some of the recent changes on Airbnb, I have been considering other options. However, I don’t want to just start listing on every OTA (online travel agent) partly because of the management headache, but mostly as I don’t want to have to have instant book. I like vetting who is staying as my property is in my back yard… I am active in quite a few forums on facebook and some hosts are talking about getting off platform altogether. Like starting their own website. I get that this poses some issues, mainly with driving traffic to your site, but if all things were equal, would you do it? Set up and manage your own listings(s) and forget about OTAs with their increasingly ridiculous rules and commissions??? I have to admit, it sounds tempting…

1 Like

I have in the part, expensive and lack of reach, hope to do so again.

Hey Como. Thanks for your response. So you did it and it wasn’t that successful, but you would do it again if you could? Could you elaborate, if you wouldn’t mind? :grinning:

My problem is seasonality and back then all my business was in the summer now I have generated winter business but I still have gaps, just about to enter one for a month or so.

I started using ABB as no booking no fee, and paying monthly fees for dead months was not attractive, also to process CC’s certainly then as part of the booking process significantly added to the cost.

Booking seems popular locally, and makes sense to go with what most customers are likely to use, I did notice a different demography between ABB and when I had my own web site. I have a Facebook page and also know some people will not use that, so to maximise your business especially in the slow periods you need to be wide spread.

Yep, I hear you. Thanks for that. Where is your property located? (No need to be specific, just a country or region, just curious). Thanks!