Would you be ok with a guest using one of these?

Hello there. I’m from Canada and will be travelling to Italy this year. I’ve never used AirBNB before, but as a potential guest in the near future, I’m thinking about buying a “travel door lock” for when I’m inside/sleeping. It’s a temporary, portable lock ONLY for when you’re inside just to feel extra safe. People often buy them for staying in hotels. Of course it doesn’t involve any screws or nails or damage to the door or frame. I just want to use it to feel extra safe and comfortable for when I’m inside, especially while I’m sleeping.

AirBNB hosts: Would this be ok? Should I ask the host beforehand?

The forum won’t let me attach any pictures because I’m a new user, but just use Google Images and search “travel door lock” and there is many different types.

I would personally not use this device. Although it may give you a feel of extra protection, you may be risking your own life in the event of a fire or some type of emergency. Instead of relying on an extra lock. Ask detailed questions to your host regarding safety, locks, doors, neighbourhood etc. Common sense will keep you safer than any lock. Be informed not fearful.

2 Likes

I agree with woodwin. If you don’t feel safe enough with a traditional bedroom door lock, then you perhaps should find a property you have more confidence in in terms of neighborhood, hosts, etc.

2 Likes

Why would you use such a thing?

AirBnB is based un trust, if you do not trust your host, you are using AirBnB for the wrong reasons.

3 Likes

Hi @dip,