Why do you use (or not use) outsourcing services?

Hello everyone,

My name is Linda and I am a Masters student at the University of Oxford’s Internet Institute. I am conducting a research project on outsourcing practices among Airbnb hosts for a course I am undertaking this term. I am interested in understanding why Airbnb hosts choose to use third-party services for tasks such as booking management, listing management, cleaning and interior design. I have been reading some other posts on this forum, but there are some things that I would like to understand better, with your help.

Some questions to start discussion:

• Why have you chosen to use or not use outsourcing services?
  • Are there particular services that you think are better outsourced or not (i.e. some tasks that you would never choose to outsource)?
  • Why do you think other people use outsourcing services? Do you think it’s more common in certain locations, or for certain services?
  • Do you think outsourcing services offer value for money?

Please remember that as this is a public forum, your responses will be public and associated with your username, from which you may be able to be identified. Alternatively, if you would like to provide a comment privately, please PM or email me (below) with your thoughts.

Anything you say will be reported only in a general way in my final paper and will be fully anonymised. This research has been approved by a research ethics committee at the University of Oxford. If you have any concerns or questions about this research, please PM or email me at linda.ma [at] oii.ox.ac. uk, and I can provide you with an information sheet with further detail.

Thank you!
Linda

Those of us with only one listing won’t outsource because it costs too much and cuts into our small profit margin. Why should I pay someone to do what I should be doing as a good host?