When guests give you 4 starts for clean -- ideas to try

Continuing the discussion from Sick of getting 4 stars for cleanliness:

Definitely! Great suggestion.

I think you might have a perception problem rather than a cleanliness problem. I used to be a real estate agent in NYC and this is something we had to be sensitive to when showing apartments for sale.

1. Odor. Most of us can no longer smell the particular smell of our homes, our noses get so used to it. I use carpet deodorizer between rug shampoos. My overwhelming favorite is: Aunt Fannie’s Carpet Refresher in bright lemon. Stale smells will suggest uncleanliness to some. I use a Frebreez plug in between guests if the guests cooked cabbage or something, that kills the order, then I remove the plug in before new guests arrive.

A pantry cabinet tended to smell musty/stale for whatever reason, so I took a small jar and filled it with whole cloves, cinnamon sticks, all spice, etc., and pushed it to the back of the pantry. Problem solved.

1. Food. Add snacks, chocolate, interesting soft drinks, etc. Most guests do not eat anything so you will not even notice the cost. But funny thing, almost all my reviews mention that there were snacks even though they were untouched. This I will never understand!

2. Fresh flowers. Most places have inexpensive sources for these but it depends where you live. A small orchid lasts many weeks if fresh cut is out of your budget.

3. White linens. My first housekeeping company told me they would not clean my place unless I used only white sheets and white towels, which I was already doing. I wash everything in a peroxide creating detergent (Powerizer) so I do not have yellowing at all.

As a guest I’m to the point that I won’t book an AirBnB that uses colored linens. Call me what you will.

Hotels use white for a reason.

3 Likes