What would you do? Renovations taking longer than expected

Hello :slight_smile: I’m new to Airbnb we listed with the expectation that the renovation work would be well finished before availability/ booking dates. We got a few bookings with the first being about 8 weeks from the intended stay. However were 4 weeks away now and due to significant issues our builders run into he’s told us we will be only ready days before if at all!
As our first booking I don’t want to have only a host on my profile and any bad review. I’m not sure how it all works?
It’s for 4 people for 1 night and I gave them a good price as were just starting and have no reviews. So I can’t afford to pay for somewhere else in the area for them. Any advice would be much appreciated.

I would be honest and let them know what the situation is at your property. It is upto them if they want to cancel and find somewhere new. If it is 4 weeks away there is plenty of time.

I think what we forget is that this is not a hotel business and it is run at the convenience of the host as well as for the guest.

Honestly though, I’d let them know. The sooner the better.

We need more information in order to be able to give you advise. What is the scope of the remodel? Will the guests have bedrooms and bathrooms? Will it be noisy? Will there be fresh paint smell? Will guests be denied access to the property?

A word of caution for anyone reading this. Construction virtually always takes twice as long as predicted not to mention city and/or county inspections. As you can be up an running with your Airbnb listing in one day, it is prudent to wait until the construction is complete before you list the space.

1 Like