What has been your experience, as a host, renting on AirBnB?

What has been your experience, as a host, renting on AirBnB?

I rented my first room on AirBnB last year, advertised as an airport layover. A few weeks before my reservation, the host moved me to her other property about an hour a way. It was an upgrade from a private room to a whole apartment, but I really just wanted a place to sleep near my early-morning flight, and I had to get up an extra hour early and spend $60 on an airport shuttle. (The original booking was walking distance to the airport.) I was a newbie so I didn’t complain or think to ask the host to cancel. I just complained in the private feedback to AirBnB. I see now looking back at her profile, she has canceled on a lot of guests and her listings are gone, so perhaps enough people complained.

I booked another place on instant book for a place in NYC next month and have been asking some basic questions about the accommodations (it is unclear what the sleeping arrangements are from the listing). I’ve been having trouble getting the hosts to write back, but it is a strict cancelation policy so I feel like I’m stuck. These guys have 5-star reviews from dozens of guests, too!

The second experience could turn around and become great once I’m there, but my two experiences so far have made me a bit skeptical about staying on AirBnb at a guest. Maybe it explains why my guests, so far, who are experienced AirBnB users LOVE staying at my place? I write back promptly and offer what I say I’m going to offer!

1 Like