Washington DC and other Spring Break Locations - Rate Increase?

Hi Everyone

I’m still pretty new at this - just 3 months - I’m learning and have lots more learning to do.

I just received a request for a booking in March 2016. Wheee! Then I realized - dang, that’s the middle of Cherry Blossom Festival, I should probably raise our rates! DC is also a popular destination for Spring Break trips.

Does anyone have any advice about what months are most popular spring-break months, and about how much to increase my rates, etc? I’m thinking March-May?

I’ve now increased my rates just $10 a night for the Cherry Blossom Festival. )My regular rate for 2 people is $55 - I’m about 20 minutes train ride from ‘city center’, the guests share a toilet with a student who lives with us and have to come upstairs to shower - so I think my rate is comparable to other lodging options in my area. They also have a small kitchenette they share with the student)

Would love to hear from others how to approach this. “Air” offers no price tips for that far in advance.

Many Thanks!

I have no advice about the DC area. But I raise my rates to what the market will bear. I don’t try to be nice. I offer a wonderful product and if the guest is willing to pay the price, I gladly accept.

With high demand weeks you can always lower the price if it doesn’t fill up. Check the rates of local hotels and see what they charge. Then adjust your rate up or down depending if your place is nicer or not as nice as the hotels. So since your guests don’t have a private bathroom then adjust your rates a little lower. But if you provide luxurious bedding/mattress or a to die for breakfast spread then adjust up a little. Just play around and you will eventually find your sweet spot. Also don’t forget to check out the Airbnb competition and look at their calendars and rates.