Vrbo for Airbnb hosts

Hi everyone,

Sorry that my first topic here isn’t about airbnb, but i suspect this is the best place to ask…

Although I’m new to airbnb, depending on airbnb as my inky source of guests seems unwise. So Ive been looking at VRBO… buuuuuuuuut… It seems like a whole different kettle of fish.

For example, as guests don’t seem to have profiles, I have no idea how to vet them. Also, it looks like I need to get guests to sign rental contracts. In short, looks like a steep learning curve.

Has anyone here come acroas a guide along the lines of “VRBO for Airbnb hosts” which explains the nuances of VRBO from the point of view of an Airbnb hosts? Or, is there anyone here that has gone through the learning curve and can share their wisdom?

Thanks

Fahed

Have a read on the homeaway forum, every platform has its problems.

You mean on the HomeAway site? I was hoping to hear from Airbnb users and the Airbnb-to-HomeAway learning curve.

If I have to start from scratch, I think I will just put HomeAway off for the immediate future as this is my family’s home (which is very high end) and I can’t afford to screw things up.

If it is a high end home I think you will prefer VRBO. You get a real security deposit. Compared to nothing on Airbnb.

Things I don’t like about VRBO. Unless you pay the $399 subscription fee the fee’s are higher. I find it very cumbersome to change rates for special events.

I use both airbnb and vrbo.

In my opinion, the vbro interface is more difficult to use.

I don’t vet my guests, but you are right that it is near impossible on vrbo. I use instant book on airbnb, so no need for me to vet guests on vrbo. I do not instant book on vrbo - I don’t like the calendar synch, so I only IB on airbnb, and manually open/close my calendar on vrbo.