Verification of new host - UK problem

Hello Everyone,
A newbie here - dipping our toes in the water of holiday letting our annexe (North Yorkshire, England).
Taking the photos, preparing the property description, going through the forms - no problem.
Verifying identity -BIG problem, wasting many hours.
Driving Licence - take a photo, send it in, take selfie on the phone app, and that in, too.
FAIL. The algorithm couldn’t match the photos. Hardly surprising; the licence photo, like on all UK plastic licences, is a faint, tiny hologram.
Try again, with passport.
Same result - again, not surprising. The UK passport has another faint hologram, with just a passing resemblance. (Female, of a certain age, grey hair, Caucasian).
Impasse. We have been on to Support by phone, then upgraded to higher echelons abroad, by email.
Surely, this must be a common experience, given we all have the same type of documents here, and no actual ID card?
Thinking of packing it in, frankly, and advertising our flat privately. Especially after reading the cautionary tales on here about the trials and tribulations of holiday letting. What a hassle it’s been - and we haven’t even started!

Airbnb software is notoriously horrible. Lots of hosts and guests have had this issue.

Thanks for that - good to know I’m not alone! But what to do to overcome the problem?

Keep trying until you tear all your hair out or give up? I really don’t know what to suggest.

If you are trying to do all this with your phone, try doing it on your computer. That worked for one host who posted about having this issue.

Thanks Muddy. We sent the photos from phone to laptop, and then on to Airbnb, but still no luck.
Will keep trying for a while longer.