USA tax question, foreign airbnb income, not filing return

hi all, i’m a US citizen but me income for the last few years has been considerably below $10k so i havn’t files a US tax return, as per IRS rules.

now i have some rental income from my property in Thailand going into my US paypal account.

my income is still way below $10k and if it was active income i would continue to not file, not i’m not sure about airbnb passive income.

can anyone tell me, do i have to file, and if the answer is yes, how would i itemize my expenses, since i probably spend more maintaining the place than i get in income anyhow.

thx steve

I’m not a tax lawyer, but I did sleep in an AirBnb last night… I doubt anyone here is tax lawyer enough to help either, although someone who is expert may chime in. If I were you, I’d try to contact a tax attorney — either that or the IRS.

1 Like

i’m hoping someone in a similar situation already found out.

Wouldn’t the quickest way to find out @stevethailand would be to call your IRS people and ask them?

1 Like

You need to talk to a CPA. it’s possible from what you say that you will not need to file a return.

You grossly underestimate the organization of the US IRS. I had to call once and was on hold for 3hrs​:joy::joy:

CPA here. I’ve got more ideas for ABB tax deductions here You don’t have to file if the sum of your income is below $10,400 - the standard deduction ($6350) + exemption ($4050). If you’re over 65 and receiving social security, that threshold before having to report is higher. Passive income is not tax exempt income so yes airbnb rental income and deductions gets reported on Schedule C (if active) or Schedule E (if passive). If you rented it for less than 15 days the income and deductions are exempt from reporting.