Uk tax advise please

Hi,

Im
A new airbnb host in the uk and i am trying to get my head around the tax situation. I read on line that if the property is not my main residence as a furnished holiday let then i dont have to pay tax. Has anyone else got experience of this.

Many Thanks

1 Like

I am not a tax expert, I do Airbnb in my own home and pay tax on earnings above the rent a room scheme limit. I see no reason why a holiday let would be tax free after your personal allowance.

I can’t imagine why income from a holiday let would be tax free. Where did you read that ? Unless it was on the HMRC site - it’s unlikely to be true :slight_smile:

You’ll need to speak to your local council about business rates - I think there might be some sort of business rate reduction or exemption, but they will be able to advise you.

Your tax situation will depend on what your other taxable sources of income are.

Thank you for your quick reply. I had tried to contact
hmrc about it but he info they gave was about as clear as mud. Here is the link i was referring to. I think the big difference is if it is either a property which is rented out full time or is a place of residence but is rented out temporarily

https:// www. gov. uk/ government/ publications/ furnished-holiday-lettings-hs253-self-assessment-helpsheet/ hs253-furnished-holiday-lettings-2015

Any experiences you’ve had would be great - It will not let me post the actual link unfortunately

I had a very quick look at the document you reference and couldn’t see where it states if you have a furnished holiday letting you don’t have to pay any tax on the income you generate.

I can’t see why they would do this. I rent out a furnished place on a long term rental and pay tax on it.

Can you quote the relevant section?

If you have multiple sources of income you may want to pay for an accountant for one off advice or to do your accountants for you.