Twin bed placement options

I’m in my second year of hosting and have recently realized that, instead of placing my twin beds side by side, I could line them up against the outside wall and produce a lot more space in what is a really small guest room. In my description, I say that the beds can be shoved apart or pushed together. I get all combinations of guest with the existing options (mother-daughter, two guy or gal friends, married pair, etc.). It would take a few hundred dollars to reset the wall TV and alter the built-ins in order to keep all the options available But the extra space feeling, a place for a cosy chair and table and better place to put luggage and drawers are intriguing. I think only the romantic pairs may be put off with this placement. Also, I suspect that once I make the changes (especially adding the chair and table) I won’t want to keep moving things around, even though the beds are on wheels. Would you make the change?

1 Like

Only if you don’t mind losing the couples. I wouldn’t stay there due to that arrangement, but then, I do t think two single beds pushed together would appeal to me anyway. It sounds like your demographic is mostly people traveling as friends relatives rather than couples anyway is that right? If so, and you have calculated it won’t be much of a loss to miss out on the business of couples who want to cuddle, then it sounds like a good arrangement.

I would be more inclined to have it so the table and chair are also moveable so you retain the flexibility, and design your room around that option. Better still, do what most people do that find works best, and get a nice comfy full size bed. You just might find you are busy all the time with a proper comfy full bed. Couples will stay, and mother/daughters often travel like this (I get them), as do girlfriends. But if it ain’t broke…

Hi jds,