Tax on Airbnb income

This is a question from Europe (Germany), but hosts in other parts of the world are invited to share their experiences.

Airbnb is really making headway in Germany. I’ve been renting out rooms in my apartment for more than 5 years now, and I regularly get newbie guests, i.e. those that never used Airbnb before. The market is really getting mature now.

For some reason, not all Airbnb hosts seem to be very keen on stating the Airbnb income, in their tax returns. Therefore, the German Ministry of Finance seems to have sent an official request to Airbnb Europe (located in Ireland) for Airbnb to provide the names and full addresses of German hosts, in order to check that all of them duly declared their Airbnb earnings in the annual tax return.

I am not a lawyer, and I don’t know if Airbnb will comply with this request. However, I believe it is fair that all Airbnb hosts are treated equally, and tax dodgers are caught.

As you will know the reason people don’t declare their income is because they are what we call ‘tax dodgers’, who want to avoid paying tax on the income they generate.

In the UK we have a law that if you share your home you can earn up to £7000 or so, before you need to declare your income for tax. This was designed to encourage people to take in lodgers, so I think they are going to close this loophole.

I don’t know about the legalities of Airbnb provide information on hosts, but I think they might do something similar in the U,S.

We have a similar law in Germany, only the threshold used to be DM 1,000 and it was duly adapted to € 500 when the Euro was introduced, back in 2002. This figure never changed ever since. Clearly, Airbnb was not in the mind of people who made this law.

1 Like