Suggestions please for the best welcome basket items as a post-construction peace offering

I’m looking for the most appreciated welcome gift/basket ideas for guests. We have guests staying in our cottage starting one day after water damage is fixed. Budget $20-$30.

For sure the cottage will smell of fresh paint and it may have construction dust still floating in the air. There may be one missing accent light. These folks are staying for a week and will get maid service mid-week as usual.

I studied the other thread about welcome baskets but my question is a bit different. (I did note the fresh squeezed orange juice idea though!)

I want to know what items you find impresses or pleases your guests the most. My plan is to leave an extra nice welcome with a note acknowledging the obvious.
I provide store bought croissants, snacks, coffee/tea and soft drinks normally.

Do guests drink wine when you leave wine? We have a locally made sparkling wine that is nationally famous.

For those wondering, I have decided not to cancel these guests but if they want to leave I will give them a full refund for unused nights.

I do think the place will be fine except for the paint smell.

I wonder if an ozone generator would get rid of that paint smell.

On the welcome basket, would it make sense to ask the guest? For example, you might say something like

As you know the cottage has just been painted after recent water damage. We’re doing all we can to lessen any paint smell. If it becomes too much for you we will of course refund any unused nights.

Though we always provide a basket of store-bought croissants, coffee/tea and soft drinks, we’d like to put something a little extra special for you in your welcome basket. We’d love to surprise you but we don’t want to give you something that you wouldn’t like.

So could you give us a little input please?

• We have a locally made sparkling wine that is nationally famous. Interested?
  • Is gluten-free a preference?