Staging Your Airbnb Rental

How many people here stage their Airbnb rental? Do you think staging means you can charge more? If so, what percentage would you say it increases the nightly rate? If there was a service that offered staging/decor, would you use it?

Hi Cyn, I’m a guest, so I talk from the guest perspective!

As a guest I want to be presented with something that competes with a hotel (if you’re renting a room) or a professional vacation rental (if you’re renting an entire house). With so much competition out there, a professionally presented room (at any price point) should be the norm rather than something you consider doing. And it shouldn’t be the basis of a price premium - done well it’s your competitive advantage.

So, in that context, I say YES to staging. But think of it less as staging, more as simply what has to be done to remain competitive.

Hope that perspective helps!

Andy

1 Like

By “staging,” do you mean decorating it well? I’m not a designer by training (or profession–I’m a scientist!), but I care about aesthetics. That said, I would rather stay in a place that has not been staged than one that feels poorly decorated, e.g., right out of Apartment Therapy or a Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, or CB2 catalogue. That’s probably just me. There’s no question design can be polarizing, and it’s impossible to appeal to everyone. I figure major “niche” hotels have probably figured out how to maximize revenues with the right level of trendy.

p.s. I once toured a house where someone bragged it looked right out of a Pottery Barn catalogue. To each his/her own.