Specific Red Flags for Potential Guests? Other Criteria?

I’m just starting out my listing and wanted to know if anyone had advice on any particular red flags you’ve come across for guests requesting reservations? And beyond “red flags”, are there any criteria that you recommend for either accepting or rejecting a reservation request? I like seeing that guests have prior rentals and reviews, but would I be limiting myself too much by only accepting people with prior airbnb rentals?

Thanks for your help!

There is a lot of debate about this issue on this forum - do some searching and you’ll find plenty.

I’ve been hosting for 8 months now. My experience tells me that there is no way to predict who will be a good fit, and who won’t. I’ve had young college kids that took out the trash and wrote me a thank you note, and college kids that didn’t even put their trash in the bin. I’ve had Chinese guests that spoke loudly and were a bit obnoxious and a party of 5 who were so quiet I did not know they were there. I’ve had guest arrive who’s photo was so strange, and her communication so poor, that I was dreading it. They were an amazing family and we just had the best time.

The one thing now is that I am more straight forward with guests if I’m concerned. I’ve had two bookings of college aged people and told them of some bad experiences and asked if they felt they and their friends would be respectful. A group of 5 ladies from the UK just left and they were LOVELY. I have some coming from Malaysia, the kid has kind of a gangster pose in his profile photo. We chatted a good bit about expected behaviors. I friended him on FB and he seems like a sweetheart. I had a family from India book for a week (we share the home) and I told them upfront, NO COLOGNE. We’ll see if MY ‘no cologne’ and THEIR ‘no cologne’ match!!!

Good luck!!!

2 Likes

As a fairly new host (since December last year) all our guests so far, with the exception of one, had no reviews.