"smart-pricing" questions

I’m new to AirBNB and have my second guests staying now. I know that much of the pricing is based on what is also available in the area. I offer a 500sq.ft. “mother-in-law” style apartment with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and large living space. AirBNB recommends $45/night. Um, my husband recently stayed in a hotel in a neighboring city for $150/night.

So, will the smart-pricing adjust after I start getting reviews? There are very few similar places on ABB, mostly just a single bedroom in someone’s home. In a neighboring tourist area I see prices that are double, and I live in a metropolitan area? Just wondering if someone knows how the system works, or if the pricing goes up after you get reviews.

Hi @Sarah_Warren,

The concensus here seems to be that the smart pricing is nuts, and you are better off ignoring it. But there’s been plenty of discussion on this topic already. Do a search. If you can’t find anything, ask, and I’m sure people will be able to dig up relevant threads for you.

2 Likes

Do not give in to ABB’s recommended prices. There are so many things that are not figured into those numbers. Charging a fair price is good business. Keep researching communities near you to get a handle on how you should charge.

3 Likes

True, that is definitely the consensus but I find that the smart pricing system uses higher prices than I do. As long as you set the minimum and maximum price levels, it stays within the parameters you set.

I agree but it’s always show us our minimum price so not so usefull…

1 Like

How long have you been using it? I think it did the same for me at first - it took a while to kick in but I forget how long.

I have the same and they are suggesting $49 per night. That is laughable. Why they would even offer such a non intuitive thing I have no idea. Ignore.

2 Likes

We started our place in April