Should I rent or turn property to Airbnb?

Hello all,

I just found out I can post. I am new to this. I am in the process of purchasing a property. Not sure if I should keep it as a rental or turn it into an Airbnb? Currently there are tenants renting out the property and they are section 8, which is sort of guaranteed income. I have also been checking in my area for Airbnb bookings for other short term rentals and it seems like some get booked more than others, and some have no bookings for the whole month.

How do some of you handle no bookings for a month or two?

Anyone have experience on this as far turning a rental into an Airbnb? also with section 8 tenants? I am a little nervous converting this purchase to an Airbnb because I am not sure how most people handle a whole calander month or 2 with no bookings? but looking to get insight.

thanks again

No way to give meaningful advice without more information. What was your intent when you bought the property? I assume strictly an investment? What kind of property is it and where? Do you live in the same town and intend to manage it yourself or are you hiring a management company? Every town needs housing but not every town needs more Airbnbs. For the STR (short term rental) market you might be a bit late to the game. And if so you’ll have to work that much harder. Hopefully you aren’t depending on the income to make the payments in case it doesn’t work out.

Insurance and local regulation is different for STR than LTR, make sure you investigate both for your area.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I am buying it as an investment property in phoenix. Its located near many amenities. I live about 20 minutes away from the property. I plan on managing it myself. I agree I might be a little late but not sure as I don’t have experience in either market but can learn fast.