Saving resources

I have been hosting since last 6 months so far with relatively good experience with guests. I am noticing some guests are least bothered about saving energy and resources. For example - guests switch on all lights in the room when they leave for work ( I do not enter their room when room is booked), also noticed some guests take shower fro 30-45 min (is that normal??? or am I a quick shower person!)

Is it ok to tell them? and if so how do I place it? any suggestion?

Take charge here. A 45 minute shower is extremely disrespectful and wasteful of resources. it should be no more than 10-15 max!! I would definitely remind them not to do that and if you have to, install signs. Even hotels have signs reminding guests not to waste water (hope you are not in Cape Town!) you could add it to your house rules so that you have an expectation to refer to. One of our former hosts here, who owned an island, installed a five minute timer on the hot water tank, and voila, people leaped out! :rofl::rofl: extreme but you do what you have to do.

I’m on a rain tank here in Hawaii. When guests arrive I show them the tank and remind them we are on a finite water system completely dependant on what nature gives us and that we need to be mindful of water use. I have not had any issues with crazy showers in years and years!

As for the lights, that’s a bit trickier. If you switch to LED bulbs the pain won’t be as severe.

2 Likes

I can’t hear my guests showering in their room but I can tell from the water bill and how long the hot water heater is on that some people take long showers. They also leave lights on but I’m also one of those who doesn’t go in the room until they’ve checked out.