Resignation? Quit hosting?

I’m about to quit hosting.

After one year of COVID restrictions I’m happy to have no guests anymore.
As a 6-year host I don’t like the way AirBnB has changed from offering private places to a hotel-like service.
It’s not about the people anymore but about location and service. Guests are also expecting too much I think.

I loved to hang around with guests, cook together, having some drinks and a nice chat. It’s all gone.
To me it was never about the income but about the people.

I work as a media and communication designer. COVID hit me hard. No contracts for a year. We are nearly bankrupt.
Maybe I’m depressive, I also developed some kind of a alcohol and drug addiction.

Don’t know why I’m posting this here. It just doesn’t make sence anymore.

12 Likes

Hi Dirk,

Your feelings are understandable. And just as it seems things are going to get back to normal with the vaccines, the regional spikes keep reminding us that the pandemic is not over.

You don’t have to quit hosting…or continue. You don’t have to make a decision today. The old model of hosting guests and hanging out with them will return. There might even be an increased demand for that kind of accommodation once it’s safe. It’s impossible to say what will happen next month or next year.

If I remember correctly you are in Germany and I don’t know if your listing is one that I have bookmarked or not. Was your Airbnb a separate property that you need to sell?

I hope you get the help you need to battle your addiction and depression. You are always welcome to post here even if you stop hosting.

14 Likes

Thank you,

I feel the warmth in your words.

Yes, I am the German guy you bookmarked.
And last year I bought a cabin with a little pond to offer a second listing.
Reconstrucion is still ongoing…

I went to an AA meeting last week. Crazy folks. It’s not for me.

6 Likes