Reservation cancelled within 48 hours of booking but within 24 hours of checking in

I am new to being an Airbnb host and encountered a somewhat strange situation recently. Somebody booked my apartment on a Friday at 7 p.m. and then at 7:50 p.m. cancelled the booking. The booking was for the next day.

I have a moderate cancellation policy so Airbnb refunded the guest the cleaning fee but sent me the first nights accommodation. It was a surprising bonus.

Then the guest messaged me to say could I refund the accommodation cost because they had cancelled almost immediately and it was an error. I thought about it briefly and then checked their profile to find they actually had two properties in the same part of the city as I have. So my thought was they were actually trying to find out more information about the new competition and in making a booking trying to get the additional information.

I called Airbnb who said I’m under no obligation to refund the money and so I told them that.

They then contacted me and said it was my decision and anyway my booking policy says refunds up to 48 hours from the booking date. But of course there’s another policy that says if you cancel within 5 days of a booking you will forfeit the first night. Since that forfeiture was actually done by Airbnb it was following its own rules.

I have decided not to refund the money and will not enter into any further communication with the person since clearly as an experienced host it’s not a mistake they would have made normally. they even mention they had Airbnb properties and so were familiar with the cancellation policies. In that case they should know if you cancel within 48 hours you will lose your first night. That particular conditions override the 48 hours.

Appreciate what other post, it might be. Thanks.

Very strange indeed. Is airbnb legal where you are? If not they might try to get your address by booking and reporting you to the city… just a thought but maybe it’s not that.