Renting out a spare bedroom in my own home

Hi all,

I just found this forum and had a quick read and found there are really useful answers.
So here is the thing: I’m moving into a 3bedroom house where only 2 bedrooms will be occupied. At first we were thinking about leaving it empty and use it as a guest bedroom when friends and family visit but then my friend, who is going to be my house mate, came up with the idea of renting it out on AirBnB.
To be honest at first the idea was appealing but as we will be leaving there it means all of our stuff will be there. I’m a photographer and graphic designer, meaning I’ll work a lot from home and having expensive computer and photo equipment. The whole point of renting a house was to have enough room for me to be able to have a desk in the living room.
But now I just started to think that even if we will be around every day, things could go missing. I read AirBnBs insurance policy and I’m not 100% sure wether it covers stolen property as well. We would only rent the room out if at least one of us is in London and would obviously try and vet our potential guests but I’m still a bit worried. It only has to go horribly go wrong once and I’d have a big financial loss.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences in advance.

Airbnb policy doesn’t cover stolen goods as far as I’m aware. You’ll need special insurance if you want it for airbnb guests. You can request guests put a deposit down to stay which cover you for damages, but this is likely to dramatically reduce guests. I decline the same amount of people as I accept I’m picky. Airbnb is a gamble and things will go walkies, not on purpose I guess, for us it’s teaspons of late.