Potential New Host with basic questions

Hello Group, newbie here. I’m glad I found this site.
I have a 3 bedroom, 1800 sqft. home is a decent neighborhood in Riverside CA. Built in 1998, it’s in pretty good shape. It’s located about 10 minutes from the local University and Community College. I also have a second home in the desert that’s 90 minutes away. I’m older (63), and not working. I need some extra income so I’m thinking about renting my Riverside house on Airbnb. I have questions about doing that.

I would like to keep the Riverside home as my primary residence, living in the desert home when the Riverside home is occupied. But I need some advice, so I’m hoping that you experienced hosts can help out a potential newbie. If you are in a similar situation, I would really like to hear from you!

Questions:

1. What personal Items can I leave in my home? Or does the home need to be like a hotel room with no personal items other than what my quests need such as towels, shampoo, soap, dishes etc. Do I need to pack up all of my personal items and move them to the desert or to the garage? I have a good size walk in closet, I guess I could move all of my clothes into that and lock the door??
  2. I have a 3 car garage. One of my bedrooms is currently an office, thinking about moving it to the garage and making the garage off limits? Good idea?
  3. The home is in a decent neighborhood, but it’s not great. Neighbors have occasional loud parties, how should I disclose that?
  4. I don’t think I want to be here when I have guests, but I’m not sure. I have one living room, one kitchen, two bathrooms and a very large dining room that I could make into a family room. I also have a very large backyard.

I know I’m rambling, but I wanted to give an idea of my situation and was hoping to get some sage advice. Thanks in advance. And if your new as well, if you’ve rented to a single quest, you have more experience than me so please reply :wink:

Paul

1 Like