Personal Chef as an added benefit

Hello… I’ve connected with a Personal Chef in our area and want to offer it to our guests if interested. Do I have to add it as an ”experience”? Or what’s the best way for anyone that’s done it?

@KenH may have some input

RR

1 Like

For Airbnb to accept it as an experience, it has to be more than a service the guest could just hire for themselves. It would require some special participation by the guest, maybe an unusual menu—something that differentiates it.

Make sure the chef has insurance to cover them if someone should claim they got food poisoning. Seems unlikely, but it’s certainly something guests could pull.

1 Like

I would not add a Personal Chef as an Experience. I would just highlight Personal Chef Services Available and then have a detailed explanation of what Meal Plans they can choose from and the costs for each plan (see below).

As a Personal Chef myself, I just offer our guests a menu of a dozen or so Breakfast For Two options which they choose from, and then I prepare in random order during their stay. I just wrap the cost of breakfasts into the per night cost of their stay. They don’t have to eat my breakfasts, but they don’t get a discount if they choose not to have my breakfasts.

In the initial greeting message I tell them that I can/will prepare foods for any of their “dietary requirements” – gluten free, keto, lactose intolerant, low/no salt or sugar, etc. I have also offered to prepare special lunches or dinners, but only twice in five years have I had someone want a special meal – a first anniversary repeat of their wedding dinner, and a birthday breakfast and dinner.

If I were the Personal Chef being offered by you, I need to know if you want me to prepare individual meals – breakfasts, dinners, etc. Or if you want me prepare all three meals every day for the duration of a guest’s visit.