No communication from guest

Hi all. Hoping to pick some brains here as I’m new to hosting and to this site.
I have a lodge in a summer holiday ( Uk) location. When I was brand new to hosting I didn’t realise that Airbnb defaulted to” flexible” cancellation pict and what that meant. I picked this up a couple of months ago and changed it but of course it doesn’t apply to an existing booking. The school holidays are my most lucrative time to rent the lodge and I made another mistake by making it available before I’d increased the price and as bad luck would have it, someone booked the week ( 24 th to 31st July ) in the few minutes between me making it available and increasing the price!

Lesson learned - no real harm done . My problem now is that my guest has not responded to my messages. I know that people are busy and have better things to do sometimes. But everyone else has always responded with a quick “ thanks for the info” message. I sent a message this morning asking when they would be arriving so it’s clear that I need a response. Hoping this will give me a clue as to their intentions…

My worry is that as they booked on a flexible policy, they will just not turn up, get their money back and I will have no chance to rebook this late in the day. If I found out now I might be able to refill the lodge. I also live a long way away and have to pay someone £75 to clean and get the place ready for them. If I know they are not coming I can cancel this arrangement and sort it out myself when I go myself on 1 August.

If I don’t get a response should I
1.Hope for the best
2. Cancel myself
3. Ring the guest. Hate to pester and risk annoying them but need to know what’s going on!

Any help would be much appreciated!

1 Like