Newbie questions about declines etc

Apparently I am a newbie since these seem to be obvious questions but I am unable to find the answers thru the airbnb help pages…

1. If a reservation request is made, can any of the dates be blocked? I am thinking that if a reservation request seems uncomfortable, then blocking a day or days within the request could be a ‘way out’?

2. If a reservation request is made, it appears that the ‘prebooking’ things in IB are not there - for example, a verified ID, or the answering of prebooking requests (“what brings you to…” etc). Is that true?

3. How can using a ‘special offer’ help in any of the above situations?

It seems to me that so much of what goes on these days is attempting to not ‘rattle the cage’ of the guest, that it would be good for us hosts to have more tools so that the rejection or the ‘filling out’ of reservation requests does not hurt…

1 Like

Request to Book – WHY would you want to block days in the middle?? Just decline the Request – reason “uncomfortable with this request”.

IB is a completely different “system” than Request to Book, no reason to expect answers to IB questions which the requester never sees, and if you accept an “un-verified” ID you are just asking for trouble (not that verification is very deep or useful).

Most of us use one system or the other, but not both. I for one will never use Instant Booking. When I get a Request to Book, I immediately send a message asking what brings them to my neck of the woods (if they don’t say so in the Request) and tell them I need to know at least that before I will approve a Booking.