New potential guests with tons of questions

I am quite new to the Airbnb hosting (about 12 already hosted bookings) but what really started me to annoy are questions from potential guests who express interest in booking your apartment but have tons on questions first and not even about the apartment but about the city. They send me a message with specific questions (i.e. about jazz bars, galleries, art etc.), I answer very fast, listing several options, ideas … and I never hear back from them. Not even a simple thank you but we decided to book somewhere else … I try to be open and helpful to every potential guests but this is firstly time consuming and secondly quite annoying when they don’t even bother to reply. I am not a help line service.

Do you have those? How do you handle these?

I get lots of questions about how far attractions are from our house and how long it will take to get to them. Even though we’ve detailed the distances to most of the attractions they are asking about in both miles and kilometers in our listing, I answer their questions.

Have you added your recommendations to your Guidebook? If so and if you prefer not to answer questions individually you can ask them to look at your Guidebook and let you know if the want to know about something that’s not covered in your Guidebook.

2 Likes

You can imagine how many questions I get about visiting Hawaii. If they have specific questions about distances and things I answer readily. If they want to know about attractions, things to do and sightseeing, etc, I simply say, I can give you much more information after I have received your confirmed booking confirmation.

3 Likes

@BeePdx