New host - surprising event

Hello. I am new to ABNB but have been renting out to students and professionals on a long term basis for a while. I had a weird experience last night and this morning. The father (80’s) and son (50’s) arrived and were lovely to talk to. As I host in my home I greeted them, let them know about where to go for dinner and excused myself to go and prepare dinner. The next thing I know 5 locals arrived at the townhome. I thought they were only coming to greet my guests and leave. Nope, the settled in, discussed the house etc. Luckily they did not know that I know a little Spanish as the guests discussed “how much do you think this cost” , looked at the wine glasses closely and then asked me where I had purchased some of the items in my home. When the grandmother let my cat out (clearly disclosed to everyone that they are skittish the first day) I had to chase my cat around the grandmother who was still chatting away on her phone.

My renter got the hint I guess and had them all leave. This morning I woke up to find my renter on the living room coach and not in the room I had rented. I let thim know this am not to bring over guests and sent him a message reminding him of this fact and noting the rules that are available on the web site and that were printed out in his room for him to read. This guest has no prior reviews on ABNB and is brand new to the site. Anything I should be thinking about that I have not? I am kind of stuck on the coach situation as he took me completely by surprise as he just assumed that he could sleep there and was set up before I had a chance to indicate that he was making a big assumption.

No you are not stuck. Tell him to get his ass off the couch and use the bed he rented. If there are extra people there kick them out now.

Nobody can take advantage of you without your permission.

RR

12 Likes