New host looking fore advice

I am brand new to Airbnb. I have recently purchased a second home about 2.5 hours away from my current residence. Our new home is located in a Lake Lure NC. It overlooks the lake it’s right on a golf course. We will be staying at our house a few times a month, and hoping to rent it out a fairly decent amount when we are not staying there. My question is do you have any advice for a new host? I am currently looking for a cleaning person/company. I am also considering some video cameras outside the property to see who comes and goes.
Thanks,
Mike

There are a lot of threads in this forum with tips for new hosts. So my advise would be to read a lot, and then ask if you have some specific questions. Good luck for your hosting!

3 Likes

Some things I have learned being a newer host that aren’t the common things one would think about:

• Learn about your guest, we now ask for first and last name of guest if they dont provide it before booking. Sometimes we ask age!
  • Ask who is staying at your house if they dont provide it, Its your house…you should know who is there
  • Set specific SPECIFIC rules…you will add to them often
  • Have a great guide book
  • Don’t be afraid of declining a booking
  • If you can, google your guest before booking them. I have had a few that looked ok on airbnb but when I went to FB oh lordy!
  • Be firm in your policies, people will try and bend the rules if you let them
  • If you can, allow late check out/early check in…it goes a long way!
  • DON’T rent to friends! Just dont, we learned the hard way. The ONLY guests we have had issues with are friends we rented our house to at a major discount. Its not worth it!
  • Set your rate a little lower at first to get guest and reviews, this helps your listing go up in the search with airbnb
  • offer a returning customer discount IF they leave a review (this helps you get reviews under your belt!)