New Host, first guests last night, already a problem...what to do?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to hosting on Airbnb (I’ve been a guest before though) and new to this forum. We are renting out an entire house on Aurbnb, 2 bd, 1.5 ba and it is self-check-in. I’m not new to landlording at all. We have 8 houses we rent out; three of them are fully furnished and have been let as short term stays.

Yesterday, our first guests arrived. The reservation was for 2 people, a husband and wife coming to the area to go hiking. We did a fair bit of messaging back and forth in the week before their arrival. They asked for an early check-in. I said yes. They didn’t show up at the time they requested. I was there, hoping to greet them, but hey, no biggie…they could check themselves in. I went back later in the day, hoping to meet them, but they weren’t there.

Last night, well after midnight, I drove by the place (I live close by) just to check that nothing crazy was happening. Lo and behold, there were two cars at the house with out of state license plates. The place was quiet and all lights were out. This seems to me a strong indication that there are more people staying there than the married couple that booked. They were coming from 3 hours away–I can not imagine any scenario where it would make sense for them to have come in two separate vehicles.

I know exactly how I would handle this as an independent landlord. I would be polite and tactful but make it clear, if there really are more people, that they owe the extra fees for additional people. It’s only $5 per person, per night…so if it’s 2 couples staying, they owe me another $20. Believe me, they could afford it; one of the vehicles is a BMW.

However, this is an Airbnb listing…and my very first guests. I know how important that 5 star FB is, and I know how important it is to warn other hosts about these scofflaw guests. So, I’m opening myself up to suggestions…what would you do?