New Host - Do you change the linen, towels for a multi day booking!

Hi.
I’m completely new to hosting, and there’s something I’m not clear about.
When you have people staying for more than a day, are we expected as hosts to provide fresh linen and towels, everyday, as would be in a hotel?

hi I supply lots of towels near the bathroom so guests help them selves …but I don’t change the sheets …or enter the room that is booked

2 Likes

Thanks Carol,
Is there any policy on this? Or am I free to decide if I will change sheets and after how many days?
Reason I ask is I wouldn’t want to get a bad review for not doing something I didn’t even know was expected of me as a host?
Is there any general practise among hosts regarding changing linen for a multi day booking?

Noway, Airbnb is not a hotel, it’s a homestay. I would change sheets only after 1 week how you do for yourself. Also, towels don’t need to be changed every day, its a waste. the only thing I wouldn’t do with towels is to put many of them in a closet.
I had plenty of guests especially from US who would take clean set out of the closet, each every day . They stayed 4 days and used 8 sets of towels. I couldn’t believe it. Now if they stay 3-4 days I only put 2 sets of towels. And guests never ask for more.

3 Likes

Changing sheets during a guest’s stay is definitely not mandatory or even necessary, but if I have guests staying for 5 days or more, I always tell them to let me know if they need fresh linens - you never know if someone feels sweaty after a few hot summer nights, or if they’re sick, etc., they might appreciate the offer. I’ve only had one guest request this (who was extremely demanding overall and I think enjoyed feeling waited on.)

Just let your guests know the option is there if they need it, or as other posters have suggested, leave a fresh set in the room just in case.

1 Like