New Host- Can you help me please?

Hello! I am a new host and wanted to ask you on any tips to make sure that your guests are happy and enjoy their stay in your home.

Do you provide any food on arrival? For example, Juice, Water, Crisps and Nuts?

Can you give me any tips for hosting since it is my first time.

I asked them if they would like a cup of tea which invites them to have a chat. Other then that nothing else on arrival. We air our spare room it would differ between hosts.

@Shaista Welcome! If you use the search feature of this site or check the suggested topics you will see there was a recent thread on “Snacks-guests love them.” I’d suggest reading through that . There are many threads on keeping guests happy and how sometimes it’s impossible to do so no matter how hard you try. I’d suggest reading through as much of this forum as you can, it’s been very helpful.

1 Like

Hi @Shaista - as @KKC says, there are lots of topics here, old and new, that will help you. There are so many different hosting styles and it seems that every host is different. To some extent, it depends on whether you are renting out a part of your home or a separate place.

What I can say is though that you’ll love hosting!

1 Like

Does your rental have blackout blinds? If not, installing them is a good idea. Also, I hear that electric kettles are indispensable, at least if you are from the Anglo parts of the world. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Shaista,

When reading responses…like Jaquo mentioned - you need to keep in mind that you will receive many different answers depending on what type of rental some have. Even with the same type rental, you will receive many different answers.

Some owners live onsite and rent out a basement apartment. Others rent out a room in their house. Some rent out multiple rooms at the same time. Some offer private baths versus shared baths. Others rent out a whole house. Some rent out their whole house, and only move out when a guest books.

Hi @Shaista,