My lazy word choice solution for +1 reviews

Maybe this isn’t worth a whole new post, but humor me:

Sometimes the guest never introduces their plus one, sometimes they do but only when they first arrive and i’m not good at remembering names just from hearing them once.

I don’t want to assume “and boyfriend” or “and wife” because occasionally it’s a sister or a business partner.

So “…and companion” is my solution and I’m very happy with it.

As in: “Jane and her companion stayed with us for 3 nights. They communicated their travel plans well beforehand, were quiet and easy going guests while here, and followed the house rules. Luckilt, we were able to accommodate a late check out request, and would be happy to host them again in the future.”

For anyone who struggles with remembering unwritten names but strives for accuracy while balancing privacy, this is my current solution that i’m rather proud of.

6 Likes

I say “and friend”. It sounds like I am being discreet as they may not wish everyone to know they are an item (especially if same sex). After all they could be a FWB. In reality it is because I can’t remember their name.

1 Like

I require names of ALL Guests prior to check-in. Those that don’t comply I ask the names at check-in. Those ones I don’t always remember but I try to use the name in my first email (i.e. how did you and Xxxxx sleep in the new sleep number bed?). It’s not foolproof but I try to include the names (first name only) in the review for other Hosts…sometimes the booking Guest is great but their +1 is not and I want to distinguish for future potential Hosts. As far as title goes, I generally use whatever title is presented by the booking Guest in the same manner.

1 Like

I leave my reviews for the booking guest only, and only use that person’s name. It avoids inadvertently outing anyone.

9 Likes