Missing keys - suggestions please!

I’ve been hosting for over 5 years and have never had this problem before.

My last guest checked out while I was away. I usually ask guests to lock the front door after them and put the keys through the letterbox (i.e. mail slot) at the botton of the front door.

The guest says that she locked up and put the keys through the slot. However, the keys are nowhere to be found.

That can only mean that
a. She’s lying
b. Someone fished the keys out and stole them

Only the people living on this floor of my apartment block have access to this floor - plus the postman.

I’ve changed the locks now.
However, if one of my neighbours did fish out the keys off the floor - how can I prevent this from happening again?

I hope I’ve explained this in way that makes sense!

Thank you!

I recommend a digital lock for your apartment door—no keys involved.

3 Likes

As @RebeccaF suggested, the two (easiest) ways to be sure about guests leaving keys are; a secure digital lock (so no keys), or, a camera facing the front door to see if the guest truly sent the keys through the slot, and to monitor if there is any “fishing” of keys happening.

Since you cannot definitively prove she didn’t take them with her, you’ll just need to prevent this kind of situation from happening in the future!

2 Likes

Use a proper lock, a lock box or, ideally, a co-host. You really can’t expect guests to do exactly what you want if you don’t set up a system, right?

2 Likes

Might be worth it to confirm with guest exactly what “slot” they put the keys in. Maybe if you’re lucky one of your neighbors got them by accident and you can get them back. We’ve had tales here before of guests dropping keys in the wrong slot or mailbox.

2 Likes

What do you mean by a “proper lock”?

A lock box makes sense.

I have a flatmate, but neither of us were around when the guest left.