Many Requests from Guests with No Reviews

Newbie here. Insta book off. Almost ALL of my requests have no review history. One didn’t even have ID on file with AirBnB. I try to get some dialog going… most have pretty good groups (couples or families for a 3-bedroom apartment) and a decent reason for their trip. (Visiting, vacation or trip.) Photos may not be too great. Should I accept them?

It would be so nice to have well reviewed guests! Maybe the reason that I’m not getting them is because I’m a new host without many reviews myself?

That’s definitely one of the reasons. Another is that there are so many people trying Airbnb that most guests these days have very few, if any, reviews. If I remember rightly, I think I had only one or two guests with reviews all last year. And then it would be just one or two reviews at the most.

So many of them had profile images of flowers, buildings, their kids, their pets …

It seems that this is a fact of life on Airbnb these days.

2 Likes

Hi. Like you say, you can’t really expect well-reviewed guests when you can’t offer the same as a host, right? Honestly, it’s all a bit of a leap of faith on both sides. It’s good that you get some dialogue going, that’s the only way to get comfortable when you’re starting out.

Many hosts put a lot of store on photos. Personally, I don’t. Only about 10% of my guests look anything like their profile photo. I wouldn’t put all your faith in guest reviews either, I’m afraid to say. Two reasons for saying this:

1. they may have stayed at a place where they didn’t meet the host. OK, there were no problems but if you host in-home, they might not fit.