Looking for advice

I am relatively new to Airbnb, we have a 2 bed 2 bath unit we let out and have had great reviews. The most recent guest has left a day early saying they had a bad night’s sleep from noise in another unit. Given we haven’t had an issue in the past, I kept an open line of communication with the guest and she hadn’t complained in the days leading up, shuld I offer a refund for the night they didn’t use?

No.Airbnb clearly states that guests should give hosts a chance to resolve issues before leaving. (Have you had a look at Airbnb Help Centre and the community guides on Aribnb Community Centre)

Having said that you haven’t given us much information to go on. What sort of noise? Was it one off?
Do you know the tenants/owners in that unit? Do you normally live there? You might want to consider some sort of discount for the night in question depending on the situation.

Thanks for your feedback. We live in the same complex, almost next door to the unit we rent out. We know the people above now, we went and introduced ourselves once the guest informed us they were going. The noise was just the sound of people running up and down the stairs in the appartment above, it sounds like a hollow roof cavity. The guest hasn’t asked for a refund, it was more a moral question. If we knew of an issue and did nothing to resolve it I wouldnt need to ask, we were just wondering what the norm was with some more experienced hosts than us.

Don’t refund. Sometimes the place is just not a good match for the people. To me it sounds like your guests were very sensitive to noise and didn’t keep that in mind when booking the place, nor did they do anything to help themselves (like using earplugs). As long as the noise is on a normal level and house rules are not being broken, there’s nothing host can do, IMHO.

1 Like

I agree. Don’t refund especially if he hasn’t asked.