Lock for self check in : where to find it?

Hi everyone,

I stayed over at an Airbnb once with self check in and the idea struck me as an example of small geniality:

the host had a lock attached to the gate outside.

He sends you the password of the lock, and once you punch in the password the lock doesn’t unlock as most locks, but opens up a small space inside the lock itself where the keys are stored.

Checking is one of my major issues and I’d love to do the same for my own place, but couldn’t find this lock on Internet anywhere.

Any of you has any idea where I could find one?

I use this one, its mounted on the door frame.

http://www.amazon.com/Kidde-AccessPoint-001413-Combination-Permanent/dp/B000GTQU22/ref=pd_sim_229_3?ie=UTF8&dpID=41yW%2BlsmNKL&dpSrc=sims&preST=AC_UL160_SR104%2C160&refRID=1B326TCKD7YAEGDTSNB2

Why add a step? Just make the door lock electronic instead of the key holder.

3 Likes

I do find that changing the code between guests to be a bit of a hassle – how easy/fast is it to change the code on an electronic door lock?

I had a great lock (before I got my lockstate, which automates and interfaces with air). it only had room for 8 codes, so every day I would reprogram with a new code for each guest.

The, I realized that if I had 6 codes, i could cycle thru them for guests. Guest a gets a code, then leaves, next guest gets another code, 3rd guest gets first code, etc. Simple… and constantly changing codes when guests show up and then leave town the next day is a thankless and useless task.

1 Like