List of rules solves my airbnb problems

I’ve been airbnbing for approx 6 years. It’s always been a really pleasant experience but over the past 18 months I’ve had an increasing number of entitled, badly behaved guests who seem to be substituting my room for a cheap form of backpacking. It got so stressful that I almost gave up on airbnb altogether…especially when guests give you a bad review after you’ve requested that they not enter private areas of the house. I decided as a last ditch to write a list of common sense rules so there would be no doubting as to what is expected of guests when staying in my home and no excuses for unpleasant behaviour. It’s worked! I’m back to having some really nice experiences, and there’s no confusion as to the boundaries. It also reminds guests that they’re in a home, not a backpackers!!
If you’re interested here they are:

1. Please don’t go down stairs it is the family’s private area. (The second storey is at street level where the guests enter and their room is located))
  2. Australia is a very dry country with a shortage of water so please take short showers.
  3. You are welcome to smoke on the back verandah.
  4. The room and use of the house is strictly for those listed in the booking. Please don’t bring any people into the house other than those listed in the booking
  5. Let me know if you need any clothes washed as I can do this for you.
  6. If you have water on the bathroom floor after your shower, please wipe it up with the the floor mat to avoid slips and falls.
  7. Please don’t leave dirty dishes in the kitchen sink or benches.
  8. You are welcome to come and go at any time of day or night but please be considerate of others who may be sleeping after 10pm and keep noise to a minimum.
  9. The tv and other gaming and stereo equipment in the lounge room is not for public use without permission.
1 Like

Glad these have worked for you.