Just getting started hosting. Requesting input from more experienced hosts

I am just getting started and realize I may have rose-colored glasses on when it comes to thinking about hosting on AirBnB. For those of you that are real estate investors renting whole units as short rentals…What are some of your fears/worries? What are the first things you would want to outsource to make your life easier? What are some things you wish you could improve about the process? What do you wish had done or known from the beginning? I would also love to know what type of rental you have (downtown, college town, unique property, beach, condo, SFH), do you self manage, how many units, and for how long, for context. Thanks!

All of that information is available on this forum, just use the search function. You have a lot of reading to do!

3 Likes

Most of the hosts on this forum are not ‘real estate investors’ @TDog9 but as @Debthecat says there is lots of information on this forum asked by those new to Airbnb which might be useful.

I believe there are FB forums more aimed at STR investors that might provide more of the sort of information you are looking for.

1 Like

These are questions that you should have had fully sorted out before you started. This business isn’t for everyone by any means and you need various skills and attitudes. None of these can be explained glibly so as others have said, use this forum. Do beware however, as there is a lot of sheer garbage on the internet about this job.

3 Likes

I’m a home host so I can’t help with most of this.