Is TV a requirement?

Hi everyone, I have a couple of listings on Airbnb but I’m new to this. I don’t watch TV but I’ve noticed a lot of other hosts do have TV and detailed instructions on how to use it. If I get TV service would that usually raise the prices I can charge, or do you find that most guests don’t care?

I think having a TV is great; however, make sure you put it on a chic stand or media console. Also, I think Netflix or Apple TV will go a long way in making your guests happy. Hope that helps!

I don’t have TV and have never had anyone complain about it. I do have a DVD player with movies. These days with netflix and the like, I don’t think many guests care all that much about standard TV. I had thought about adding it too but frankly, depending on where you are of course, I don’t think the monthly fees would pay you back in more bookings.

1 Like

I have tv’s in two of my rooms. They only show limited basic cable, which means, nothing but crap. Barely 3 of my 100+ guests have watched them. They are all on their smart phones, tablets, surfaces and laptops, on which they can watch their own movies.

1 Like

One of my first few guests rec I order cable for the apt (young professional in his 30s) as I had a flatscreen TV that I thought people would connect to their laptops. My fifth guest asked that I attach an antenna so they could get a few channels (older couple), which I did. I have since ordered cable for the TV but last week, a young family was disappointed that this didn’t include HBO as they wanted to watch that week’s episode of Game of Thrones.

I’ve been very surprised by how many people watch TV although my youngest guests were in their late 20s and the majority of my guests are 40+.

I don’t have a TV nor a license. My listing clearly states so. Never had a request for a TV