Is there a setting to exclude guests with no reviews from booking?

HI there,

I am quite new to hosting on Airbnb. I have a request from a potential guest who has not yet been reviewed, although I understand that one needs to have a first booking in order to be reviewed to begin with, I am not comfortable with renting my place to a guest who has not been reviewed.

That being the case, is there a setting on the platform which allows me to exclude my place from users that have not had reviews in order to avoid requests that I would then be declining anyways?

Nay help would be appreciated.

Many thanks
Fabio

I used to do this too. There is no setting, I just used to have a line on my listing saying we don’t accept requests from those without reviews. I did still get some requests I had to decline, as we all know most don’t bother to read! But declining was a lot easier then as I could just hit the button and forget about it… now they make us explain to the guest, which I hate doing

Hi Fabio,

Most of my guests have never been reviewed. If I excluded them, I would have half the business! And most of them have been great guests. I message with the guest a little bit and get a sense for whether I think they’ll be conscientious and a good fit.

I have Instant Book active on my listing and I have those settings to allow only guests recommended by other hosts.

5 Likes

How would you feel if guests set a setting to exclude any host with no reviews, or even say less than 25 or 50 reviews?

What is your qualm with first-timer guests?

Many other hosts here will endorse me when I say that first-timers are often the best guests. Guests who’ve done Airbnb for a while can start comparing you with their previous experiences and rate you down, among other issues.

You have other factors to judge a new guest’s suitability by - how nicely they introduce themselves to you (or not), how well they’ve set up their profile, including verifications etc.

4 Likes