Is my airbnb property manager doing it right?

Hi fellow hosts,

I am completely new to Airbnb hosting although i’ve stayed in several Airbnbs and have not booked a hotel in what must be years. I recently acquired a 2 bedroom 1 bath room apartment in an inner part of melbourne in an entirely new complex, though admittedly not in the most popular area (i.e. sparsely populated, but has direct transport links to CBD and is right beside the subway. The CBD is less than 5 km away and even accessible by foot if you don’t mind a bit of walking. Only downside is grocerties and amenities are not at doorstep. The nearest supermarket and cafes are almost 900 metres away in a busy tourist street.

As I’m based out in another part of Australia, I had to engage an Airbnb property manager. My listing (whole apartment) was up yesterday and i’ve yet to secure any bookings - i was told winter would be slow and I have accepted that.

The initial impressions were great (helpful manager, helped to set up the place and run errands etc), and it’s perhaps too early to consider this an issue, but i did notice a few things I’m uncomfortable with. Any thoughts appreciated.

1. The profile is actually created under the management company. Should I decide to switch to self-hosting, what would become of my listing? Would the reviews (good or bad) carry over? Does Airbnb allow us to startover?

2. I don’t think I got a boost since the listing was created under a host who already has several listings.