Insurance -- hard to get?

Hello from Montana! I am just starting out and find that I need special home insurance or may be can’t at all because I want to rent a bedroom and bath in the basement and although there is an egress window, there is not a separate entrance. People would have to go upstairs to exit from any one of three doorways. Thank you!

You need to find an independent agency, not a national chain.

Ah yes. Montana. The land of unpermitted construction. I was appalled by what I saw there when I was searching for a home to buy. And yes, we did buy a house that had non-permitted work.

Building Codes never allow a basement bedroom with fewer than two exits. Doesn’t matter where you are located in the USA. In case of an emergency, people must be able to get out.

If I rented a room that didn’t have those two exits, I would immediately leave and call AirBNB. However, there is a new listing near us that has only the interior staircase– no egress window and they are getting great reviews. If our city learned of this, they would fine these people huge sums of money. Too many students have died in illegal bedrooms over the past twenty years.

Where in Montana? It is a big state.

1 Like

We use Proper Insurance and are happy. They specialize in home sharing insurance. They are based in Bozeman, but have agents who cover each region. I found them to be very helpful about a whole slew of AirBnB issues. Haven’t had to make any claims yet. When i do i will update my review of them.

ah! yes the one thing we all love INSURANCE .
always available to collect , but the never there when u show up .

i had the same experience until i found proper.insure

888-631-6680

Sigh- more flogging of product

1 Like

“Lucy” has posted this repeatedly on various threads today, some quite old. It’s certainly put me off having anything to do with Guardhog!

I think I have made it pretty clear of what I think!!!:rage:

1 Like