Increasing the Price of a Reservation for a High Demand Weekend

Hello Community,

I have an ethical question I hope you can help me with. I normally leave prices low so I am booked months in advanced. However, I neglected to raise the price for the weekend the NCAA tournament will be in town blocks away. Someone has booked the whole time of the tournament for about $40 a night. I talked to some friends and they are getting $1,200 for the same 4 nights, same accommodations.

Should I:

1. Leave it as is, the guy got a steal of a deal.
  2. Request to increases the price for the stay (I have never done this before)
  3. Cancel the reservation, and set new prices (I have never done this either)

In the long term, I know now that for high volume events I need to adjust pricing. However, what should I do in the short term?

Thank you

Ethically you can’t change the price. If you cancelled on the guy at this late date he wouldn’t be able to get another place. The oldest ethical rule across cultures and continents is to treat others the way you want to be treated. Violate it at your risk.

If you cancel it will say so on your listing and the dates will be blocked from you booking anyone else on the airbnb platform.

That said I’d have no problem letting the guests know what had happened and hope that maybe they would at least leave a big tip.

I don’t know what else to say except I feel for you. This is a very painful lesson.

2 Likes

I go through my calendar a year or more ahead of time and mark all events and holidays. Lesson learned, …painfully. They got a deal, and I think you would be blocked from booking anyone else through ABB. The only way you could book might be through CL
I got a good rate during the eclipse…because I marked it 2 years in advance.

1 Like

See also this topic for opinions about canceling to gain more profit:

1 Like