I know we talk about this time after time

I am new in this field, so I have a question for you… I was reading this on the Airbnb website…

Emotional Support Animal: An animal that provides companionship, relieves loneliness, or helps with depression, anxiety, or certain phobias but is not required to have special training to perform tasks that assist people with disabilities

What we allow:
Unless the reservation is a stay in New York or California (USA) or another location where applicable law prohibits it:
Hosts may charge pet fees for a guest who is traveling with an emotional support animal
Hosts are allowed to decline the presence of emotional support animals from a stay or Experience

So I just want to check my understanding, and ask for everybody’s experience…

Is it true than that we don’t have to accept emotional support animals? I know we take service dogs. Has anyone turned a client away because of emotional support animal?

I would appreciate your experience in this. The reason we do not accept dogs on our listing, we live in a beach town. My fear is that someone will go to the beach and leave their dog in our house unattended. I am always worried about damage.

This newbie thank you for your advice!

Have a look on the Airbnb Help website it has FAQs around the basics of managing your STR on Airbnb including a section covering its policy on support animals

Yes, it’s true unless you’re a host in CA or NY. But it’s also a good idea to check your state and city laws as well.

Unless you’re doing long term (30+ days) rental because then your listing is considered housing and you have to follow the federal and your state fair housing laws. And that has nothing to do with Airbnb. You may qualify for an exemption depending on your location and your property set-up.