I am a host who used Airbnb as a guest. Poor experience

Hello

I have been hosting guest in my villa in Florida for 6 years. Very happy overall with Airbnb. I sometimes use Airbnb as guest to travel.

I recently booked an expensive apartment with my wife and kids in the south of France. It was nice and in a great location. It had its issues (had to wait an hour in front of a locked door upon arrival, wear & tear of furniture, sticky pans in kitchen, etc). Nothing major, we are really easy going. We met the owner once. She was nice.

We paid over $120 for a cleaning fee for a 2 bdr apartment. When we checked out, we didn’t clean the apartment. Nothing major (left dirty dishes in the kitchen, left over food in the fridge, didn’t vacuum). There was no instructions anywhere either.

I was shocked to read her review after we checked-out. She said we left her place as a “pig house”, trashed her used furniture that was already worn, etc. She didn’t ask for a deposit, just a nasty review.

I was floored. I have rented for years in Florida a whole 4bd home and I charge $110 for cleaning. We never expect our guest to clean after themselves, do dishes, take the trash out, clean the floor, etc. Some guests barely use the villa, other will leave it dirty but that is what a cleaning fee is for.

We had a great time but the nasty review made me quite uncomfortable. Especially for the amount of cash we dropped and the hefty cleaning fee. I love Airbnb but the lack of professionalism from the host was a major turn off. If it had been my first time using Airbnb, i would never rent from them again. It is super uncomfortable to be publicly trashed like that.

What is your take?

What did the listing say about cleaning upon departure?

The French tradition is that you do clean the home well before leaving, but the real question is, what were HER rules?