How to protect my baby grand piano from being destroyed?

I am new to hosting - getting ready to put my house up on AirbNb.
My concern is my beautiful (expensive) baby grand piano. Not only I don’t want guest playing it, but I’m also worried about them trying to open the heavy top and dropping it and damaging the instrument.
I am thinking to put a cloth on it and sewing it together. Then putting a note that if the cover gets removed, I assume that the piano was played (against the house rules), and assess a 500$ fee. Or something like that.
What do you all think? Any other ideas?

You’re going to list the whole house? You are not going to live in the house? Call the piano movers and get it removed to the house where you live!

Cute idea with the cover, but I’d bet it will be hard to enforce the $500 penalty. I can see some idiots removing it just as a dare, and then daring you to try and collect the fee.

6 Likes

If it is that important to you then put it in storage or if it is a large house/castle with many rooms you might choose one to put your valuables in and a lock on the the door so guests can’t access it. Also clearly marked “Private. No Guest Access” because you’d be surprised (cf Legend of Bluebeard).

3 Likes

Either put it in a locked room in the house if it is big enough or move it to where you live.

1 Like

If it is a whole house rental, simply move the piano and anything else you would rather not have guests touch into one of the rooms like a spare bedroom…

I agree with KenH. Remove it from the house. In my rental I do not have anything that is expensive. It seems like guests break stuff weekly. Remember that people are on vacation and chances are that they’re drunk. Accidents happen.

1 Like

You are asking for trouble. Do you allow children? The worst thing about guests damaging or breaking things is when they try to hide it. Don’t take the risk. Remove anything that you care about because guests don’t!

1 Like